PAV BHAJI

by Shumaila

Pav Bhaji….the mere mention of it tranfers people to the streets of Mumbai. Almost all roadside vendors serve it there, and probably the best bhaji you will ever find, will be served by one of such vendors. Pav is an Indian bread– exactly like the hot dog buns we get here in the US, and bhaji, well, it’s a mashed potato based curry.

 

V loves bhaji. I think, had I even gone wrong with this recipe, he would have still loved it. To prepare bhaji is pretty easy, the only time consuming part is the chopping. I always say that cooking is a very easy and quick  job- only n only if

1. There’s somebody to do the cutting and chopping for you, and

2. There’s somebody to wash the utensils after you.

Besides, the above two, there is actually nothing much to cooking. And, in India you have somebody to do both for you. Unfortunately, I am not in India, but, fortunately, I have a dishwasher for the second. ( I lovingly call my dishwasher Jaywanti :)). So its not all that bad.

It’s generally a spicy dish. The bread does help in offsetting the hot taste of the bhaji. But you can lower on the spices in case you like something milder. The ingredients are a close approximation because I do tend to increase some of the spices as to my taste. Feel free to do the same!

P.S: I got my new charger! I am back to working on my lappy!! Its like coming home!:)

PAV BHAJI

FOR PAV

Hot dog buns/ pav (as many as you would like)

Butter (as much as your diet allows!)

Pav Bhaji masala (optional)

FOR BHAJI

1 1/2 cups potatoes, boiled and mashed

1 cup cauliflower, finely chopped

1/2 cup green peas

1/2 cup carrots, chopped

1 cup onion, chopped

1/2 cup capsicum, finely chopped

2 1/2 cups tomatoes, pureed

1/2 tsp turmeric powder

1 tsp chilli powder (I generally add more)

2 tbsp pav bhaji

1/2 tsp black salt ( I have not found this here. Instead I use amchoor powder/dry mango powder )

Juice of 2 lemons

4 tbsp butter (sigh! all good things have butter)

CHILLI-GARLIC PASTE (soak chillies in warm water and puree with rest of the ingredients listed below)

3-4 dried chillies

4-6 cloves garlic

1 green chilli

DIRECTIONS

Boil cauliflower, peas, carrots till soft. Drain out excess water. Add juice of 1 lemon and keep aside.

Heat butter in large pan, add onions and capsicum. Saute for 2 minutes.

Add chilli-garlic paste & saute till onions soften.

Add pureed tomatoes and simmer till oil separates.

Add turmeric pdr, chilli pdr, pav bhaji masala, black salt and salt. Cook for 2-3 minutes.

Add boiled veggies and  potatoes. Mash thoroughly using a potato masher, adding 1/2 cup water, if required.

Add juice of 1 lemon.

To serve:

Slice hot dog bun into two. Apply butter to both sides of the bun. You can add a little of the pav bhaji masala too. Put on heated skillet. Cook till lightly browned.

Top the bhaji with onions, cilantro and lemon wedges.